Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Moving Day

I am just so far behind with Blip although I think I managed to snap something every day over this period but just haven't had time to upload. Also, those of you who read an earlier Blip when BT unaccountably cancelled my order will not be surprised to learn that the engineer failed to turn up to connect Broadband on the agreed new date. No phone call, no explanation so we are still without wifi or a phone line in the new house.

I woke at 5.30 a.m on the day we moved to the sound of the most severe storm I can ever remember experiencing. The rain was lashing, the thunder was dramatically loud and the lightening appeared to be almost continuous. We drove along the sea front to the sound of sirens as fire engines were racing to help hundreds of people whose basements had flooded.
We arrived at our house to find that the £120 we had paid the Council to clear a space outside the front door had been wasted. One car was parked slap bang in the middle of the space. The Enforcers arrived but couldn't move the offending vehicle because of the health and safety risk from the lightening. So, our lorry had to park in the middle of the road and the poor guys had even further to walk in the pouring rain.

However, by the afternoon, the skies cleared and the sun came out just as we were ready to move into our new home.. A good omen I hope!

Oh, and I am just so excited and happy with the house. The last time I can remember feeling this excited was when we bought our first home in Teddington as 21 year olds straight from university. Those were the days of 100% GLC mortgages, although the disadvantage was that we had to provide proof that we were "married." lol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.