Cesuoshe

By Cesuoshe

Midnight Snacking

Like a lot of people I don't consider the night as over until I go to bed, even if it's 6am and the first of the commuters are shuffling to the subway station. Korea is a 24-hour place, and one of my favourite things is the fact that you can have a proper sit-down meal at any time of the day. I'm not brilliant at getting myself to properly immerse myself in Korean culture, but sometimes after a few drinks at the other foreigner bar in town I head out to eat with a few of the people there and try to impose a 'No English' rule on myself. I can't remember what the names of what we ate, but I do remember it being delicious - a spicy pork and vegetable stew, with plenty of beer to wash it down. I staggered away from the table at about 5, wanting to get to bed before the sun started to come up so I'd feel less like scum. Didn't stop me from dodging the hangover though, so I feel pretty terrible today.

I still haven't reached any conclusions, but last night was good fun. Will try to lay off the sauce tonight, but Fridays are good fun at the bar and it an be hard not to get swept up in the occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.