Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

What a day!

It was a rather eventful day yesterday (Thursday), despite the quiet, bucolic view I give you in the photo. It's all good, mind you!

We'd been to the next bigger village from our hamlet for some shopping at the supermarket and stopped in the village at the local photographer's shop, as I needed some batteries and a roll of film for my old camera (I want to experiment with film again during my holidays).

What did we learn? That he wants to sell his shop! My head spun, I can tell you! He has a good deal of work (he insists there needs two persons to run the shop), as he has virtually no competitors (we are deep in Central Brittany), and this has actually been at the back of my mind for quite a while. He says he'll stay on a bit to help and train his successor.

His work is mostly portraits and events (weddings etc.) and he finds it much more interesting than it was before digital photography, as he is spared the tedium of developing the rolls and rolls of badly taken family pictures (I'm expanding a bit on what he actually said, here! :-D ).

I know there are big questions, as I'm not familiar with studio photography (using lights, for example) and I'm not a post-prod wizard, but it is so exciting! The prospect of living around here adds to it all, of course - I wouldn't be half as tempted if the shop was in or around Paris.

Of course I'll go back and talk to him.

What do you think of it all? I'll be waiting for your comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.