Emancipation!

I spent the day in gallus Glasgow to see what the folks were getting up to with the Commonwealth Games. The place is Alive! Colour everywhere, people everywhere, everyone smiling. It's like Glasgow on hyperdrive.

I went to see a fabulous, brand new play called Emancipation Acts about Glasgow's role in the slave trade. It was refreshing to hear this bit of Scotland's history spoken out loud. I somehow got to talking to the author of the book the play is based on, and then the director came over and invited me along to the Empire Café to talk about the trade in human misery over tea and cake. I only found out about the play and the book because away back I blipped Graham Campbell and then ran into him again the following week.

Later on I joined up with Shandonner to go see his fabulous handiwork on a tree near Hampden. I think you'll agree he's a man of many talents. Thank you F for a fabulous evening.

Be careful where this blipping malarky may lead you. Look where it's led me today... : )

PS You're getting this song again because I can't get it out of my head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.