View up the Kyle of Sutherland on Christmas Day at Bonar Bridge. Taken from on the bridge at Bonar. Hope everyone had a good day!

On my way up to see my parents, and the extreme cold continues. That lump of ice in the water was being pushed up the kyle by the incoming tide. It was big enough to take an adult's weight. A growler! It passed silently under the bridge as I watched, and took photos.

The Dornoch Firth is near covered with ice in places. Large sheets have been freezing up the kyle, and break off the river when the water backs up at high tide. As the tide drops, they drift out to sea, or build-up layers of broken ice along the shores.

Haven't seen things like this since the Winter of 78/79. I was in Dundee then, and remember looking out of the big glass window/wall of the swimming pool at the Firth of Tay. It was near frozen over out there. I remember hearing about a couple of kids being rescued from a big sheet of ice that was heading out to sea. One day I went by my motorbike to Loch Leven to see the ducks and geese. There were next to none there as it was all but frozen over. A very cold waste of time that was!

More snaps of the day here (along with some others).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.