Covet

By covet

Sigiriya Rock

We climbed Sigiriya Rock today, having got the bus up from Kandy to Dambulla, then a three wheeler to Sigiriya... Left our bags in the guesthouse and made our way to start the climb. This place is the stuff of legends- but I couldn't remember anything I'd read about it on the way up, as this was genuinely the hardest thing I've ever done! Ancient palace, monastery- I don't know, but at 370m high, nothing prepared me for the views from the top... Just breathtaking. Poor iPhone couldn't really do it justice, but I do love this pic of Shian with the mountains in the background, and the sky darkening. Shortly after this, the heavens opened, we were drenched in minutes!! I'm still so glad we persevered after we were both terrified by the iron spiral staircase enclosed in a cage, and kept going: one of the best things I've ever done. A great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.