Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Jesus - and the sun is gone!

This is a drastic change in the weather from what we have had over the last few weeks. The rain didn't lend itself to the photo I was going to take so I thought of an indoor one I could do.

After doing the bits and pieces I needed to sort out I managed to get back to Llandaff Cathedral to take a close up of Christ in Majesty statue. I took a distance one on 7th February 2014, which included a lot of the cathedral. Click here to look.

I went to school in Llandaff and the school was connected to the cathedral. We regularly had services there. Afterwards I went to college in Llandaff (now a University) so know the area quite well.

Llandaff Cathedral stands on one of the oldest Christian sites in Britain. In the sixth century St Dyfrig founded a community close to the ford where the Roman road crossed the river Taff. The present cathedral dates from 1107, with various rebuilding since after deliberate damage caused due to the English civil war, the world wars, and storm damage.

The blip photo shows a close up of the statue by Sir Jacob Epstein, who created the figure of Christ in Majesty which is suspended above the nave on a concrete arch designed by George Pace. It was installed in 1955.

I have always been fascinated by it. It's certainly different, and hopefully I've got it at a different angle for a change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.