Sandcastle Holidays

By Sandcastle

Charity Shop browsing in Edinburgh

A change to plans for this morning led me and my daughter to go for a wander to Stockbridge in Edinburgh which has a bustling shopping street with many charity shops.

She had heard that there was a 'Designer' charity shop which had opened, so was on the look out to see if there were any designer bargains which could be found there. But en route we happened to pass the Shelter Book Shop and she spotted a cook book in the window which she wanted.

I found a number of books about Edinburgh which I'll be putting in our cottage soon, but I was particularly pleased to find an old copy of Robert Louis Stevenson's "Picturesque Notes on Edinburgh".

I really wanted to snuggle up this afternoon and give myself up to reading it and being inspired by the great writing, but work duties took over (enquiries from potential guests to answer and so on...) and I didn't manage to find the time.

The first page was great though:

"The weather is raw and boisterous in winter, shifty and ungenial in summer, and a downright meteorological purgatory in the spring. The delicate die early, and I as a survivor, among bleak winds and plumping rain, have been sometimes tempted to envy them their fate."

Now, how do I attract guests to Edinburgh with that as an inspiration?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.