2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Books about Town - Sherlock Holmes

Decided to escape for a proper lunch time break today and headed off to Gordon Square near UCL. It was much quieter without the students. I'd heard about the Books about Town (http://www.booksabouttown.org.uk/) scheme but didn't expect to find any. There were three near the square - The Importance of Being Ernest, Sherlock Holmes and Mrs Dalloway. Someone was sitting on Mrs Dalloway so I'll have to go back for a proper look and perhaps a blip next week.

During the afternoon I got an alert about problems with the trains. Another person had been hit by a train and everything was halted. These sad incidences seem surprisingly common. I left a bit later and decided to risk Paddington but not rush. When I got to the tube station, I managed to get on a train only to be told that there had been a total signal failure and it was unlikely to go anywhere. Everyone left the train and headed out in search of buses. I managed to get the second on that came by and took a slow trip to Paddington. The station was very crowded but trains did seem to be moving again. I found a train and a seat and waited in the hope that we might eventually start moving. Eventually at about 7.15 the 6.22 train began to creep out of the station. Arrived home just after 8pm - a very long day. Luckily I am reading a very long book at the moment so was able to lose myself in it and not get too stressed.

Chilled white wine went down well later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.