Long Slow Distance

By platanos

Ditchling Beacon

The third-highest point on the South Downs, at 248m, and the highest point in East Sussex, Ditchling Beacon is a chalk hill with a steep northern face. The views from the top are quite spectacular.

I shot this picture on my approach from Lewes, some 7 miles distant, during my long, slow Sunday run. Conditions on the chalk paths were treacherous: thick, sticky mud and ice, which was very jarring on the knees.

My plan, as usual on this run, was to turn back once I had scaled the top of the Beacon, but on this occasion I carried on beyond, turned left down another track, and somehow ended up in Stanmer Park. By the time I had found my way out again, I had added almost three more miles to my planned 15 mile run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.