Stand Off

It's been a funny old day. I've been working on the kitchen table, strewn with electronic wizardry, trying to make progress on some of my projects and fingers crossed I think I have completed a big one - just need Tony to give it a check through.

I've broken off to do a bit of garden clearance, feed the baskets and call in at the exhibition in the Memorial Hall marking the First World War. It was a display detailing the casualties and survivors from our village (see JeanneB53's blip). We are 'off cumdens' having only lived here since the early eighties but we still recognised family names from amongst those recorded - neighbours on our street, the family we bought our house from, well known village names - and it gives a numbing perspective on how the numbers affected here were reflected in communities like ours around the country and, indeed, the world on all sides of the conflict.

During one of our breaks Tony surprised the squirrel out of the elder tree and he was caught on the wall between us, doing a 'if I remain very still they might not see me'. He allowed me to take a number of blips so he was rewarded with a handful of peanuts.

Just watched the exciting remaining athletics events from Glasgow and now I think I've earned my hot chocolate! 'I would walk 500 miles and I would.....'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.