Nadine Pierce, a snapshot

By nadinepierce

And the beet goes on...

Despite the 'cats&dogs' weather today I decided it was time to do something with the beetroot we've been growing.

They looked pretty miserable before their top, tail & scrub but were looking rather more appealing at this point (before I roasted them with garlic & cayenne pepper & finished off with some vinegar & lemon juice).

Bizarrely, late afternoon I also decided I wanted to bake a cake (anyone who knows me will understand just how odd this is), shame I hadn't decided this before as I could've done a wonderful earthy beetroot cake.

Instead, I have tasty beets & a rather fab, improvised version of my favourite birthday cake as a child (coffee sponge with coffee buttercream icing and all enveloped in toasted almonds).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.