The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood 2014 #28

It was slightly cooler and fresher than the previous few days, which had kept me cowering indoors and in shade, so I was able to venture out to Bowood.

It was very busy, being a Sunday, as I headed off towards the Lake, but it was mid-afternoon so families were gradually wending their way out. I had intended to walk to the Temple on the other side of the Lake which affords a closer view of the east side of the Lake, where any herons might be fishing. When I got near the Lake I could see four herons in the trees and at the water's edge and they were all round the corner from the area viewable from the Temple area so there was little point continuing in that direction.

Walking along the western edge of the Lake the wildflowers had changed considerably since my last visit and some of the shrubs already had berries or hips.

I walked up the sloping fields to the Terraces at the House. This stone planter was at the top of the steps onto the Terraces and I took this shot looking back towards the Lake (It got picked for Flickr's Explore and at the time of writing had well over 5,000 views).

It was just after 1730 hr when I reached the gate leading to the path back to the entrance and it was already padlocked. I got a couple of shots of a stone figure with Bowood House behind it as I walked quickly back the way I had come to get back to the entrance before the car park closed at 1800 hr.

L.
3.8.2014 (1055 hr)

Blip #1346
Consecutive Blip #208
Day #1585

Lenses: Pentax 17-70 mm, 55-300 x 1.4 mm

Bowood 2014 series
Bowood series
Bowood 2013-2014 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day #579:
Bobbie Gentry - Chickasaw County child (1967)
Happy 70th birthday, Bobbie Gentry (born 27 July 1944, Chickasaw County MS)

One year ago: Smokey 1708 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.