LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Papa Smurf's Amazing Banana Wine

A good friend of mine once gave me some banana wine that his father had made. It was extremely nice and not at all the sickly sweetnes I had expected, nor the normal grade of home made rocket fuel I had been used to. Turned out his dad was a pharmacist and was well up on all things chemical (he even made his own 'proper' spirits in his own copper still in the garage). At that time,about 15 years ago, I was given the recipe. When my wife Jen met Alastair's dad a couple of years ago she christened him 'Papa Smurf' due to his happy outgoing demeanour, general likeableness and fluffy white beard. though I don't think Papa Smurf ever smoked a pipe, well OK maybe when he wasn't on the TV.

Papa Smurf died last new year's day and I have been trying to get round to making this ever since. Well today it was started, being a 'proper' wine made from scratch and not a kit it will probably take 6 months till it is ready for drinking and probably won't taste the same as I remember it but it will give me a great sense of satisfaction.

Unfortunately because it was cheerily fermeting away by the time I took the picture the lens kept misting up whilst trying to get the shot.

I had to look up how to spell banana as I was sure it a double n in it somewhere and was reminded of something from years ago regarding being fine with starting to spell banana but having great difficulty working out when to stop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.