Jens

By jens

Don Bowhay

During my trip through Alberta and BC I also wanted to visit the Nationalparks in the Rocky Mouhntains. Just in case of an bear encounter I went to buy some bear spray (strong pepper spray), which most often just helps against Black Bears. A Grizzly bear probably wouldn't care too much about that spray if he is attacking.

I bought that spray at Russel Sports in the south east of Calgary. There I met Don Bowhay who managed to speak some German sayings (e.g. "Ach Du lieber Himmel").
His ancestors are from Ukraine. His blood Grandfather served in SS. As he got adopted his stepfather served in the Canadian army and fought in Germany during World War II.

Don is very interested in history - especially in the history of World War II. Besides many books he also has several old guns from that era including a Sturmgewehr 44.

He told me that "Canadians like guns ... but Americans are crazy about them."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.