chantler63

By chantler63

What's Your Style?

In a couple of weeks I am travelling to the Languedoc area of France to take part in a tour of the area with my choir - Chiltern Chamber Choir. The downside means a flight with the wonderful (note sarcasm) Ryanair, but the week will be great fun. It's hard work too as we are singing four concerts, but there is plenty of time for relaxation and enjoyment - plus numerous photo chances. I am well known for always having a camera in hand and seeing things in a different way to 'normal mortals'!

The reason for today's blip is that there is a rehearsal this evening and I have had to spend time sorting out all the music I need. We have sung much of it on previous tours but there are some new pieces (homework for the coming week). I have had to miss several rehearsals already through work or holiday commitments, so tonight may be a wake-up call for me.

We sing a wide repertoire of largely unaccompanied pieces (organs are not reliable in foreign countries0) in a variety of styles - Baroque through to Modern. You may recognise some of the composers names I've added to my blip but don't worry if you haven't.

My music style is definitely classical and choral - and if a composer isn't dead, often for hundreds of years, then I'm generally not a fan. So, on 'Style Sunday' my blip illustrates what is a passion and interest of mine. Whatever your style of music, it's an area for making friends and sharing the interest. I'll be very interested to hear of YOUR style of music!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.