Trial and Error

By DawnC

Sportive

Along with the other two members of my three-lady cycling team we did a sportive today, starting and ending at Guildford and going through 66 miles of beautiful Surrey and Sussex countryside including two completely hellish climbs (as they were officially billed). I’m knackered but glad to have made it round as I hit The Wall several times in the process. My preparation wasn’t ideal having not cycled at all or slept much at night for several weeks but I decided to go ahead regardless. When it comes to cycling I have no problem with long distances now but I am through with hills! At the refreshment stop at the top of the second climb someone told me it was the equivalent of Box Hill and I can quite believe it. I cycled up half of it but was defeated by the second half and pretty much the whole of the first one.

Anyway, some observations of cycling etiquette and behaviour I have made:

When someone overtakes you from behind they warn you of their intention by either ringing their bell or saying ‘on your right’. It took me a while to realise what the latter was all about.

When another cyclist passes you in the opposite direction it is customary to nod and/or say hello to each other.

When a male cyclist overtakes a female from behind he will often say ’hiya’ as he draws level to which it is polite to say something similar back if you have enough breath.

At the start of every climb someone cycling level with you will always say ‘and so it begins’ and then sprint off into the distance.

An official at the second refreshment stop said she hoped I was wearing double padding. Now I was wearing padded shorts (I would never go any distance without them) but had no idea there was such a thing as double padding. I will however be investigating this for future rides, I can tell you!

The final five miles ALWAYS seems to last FOREVER.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.