Home Sweet Home!

Varenna, Lake Como, Italy - a beautiful little fishing village that has hardly changed since Medieval times...

A lift from home to Bristol Airport, a plane from Bristol to Frankfurt, a second plane from Frankfurt to Milan, a coach from the airport to Milan Central Station, a train to Varenna, and then a lift from my landlady, Camilla, and hey presto! My apartment for four days in Varenna!!

The top balcony on the right, just the other side of the archway was my balcony, where I used to sit and watch the boats coming and going on the lake below, and where at night I would watch the bats swooping over the roof tops, and the lightning shows that lit up the mountains on the opposite side of the lake. And at the bottom of the cobbled alleyway, you can just see the lakeside bar where each evening I would sit and sip Prosecco, listening to the waves lapping on the shore, and watching the sun go down behind the mountains....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.