Glasgow cyclists

As I write the sky is clearing at the Commonwealth Games Closing Ceremony in Glasgow. What a contrast to this afternoon during the Men’s Road Cycling Race when the rain was coming down in stair-rods and the conditions were described as gruelling with only 12 out of 139 cyclists finishing the 168 mile race.

It was hard to take any good photos as I didn’t want my camera to get wet and the photographer on the motorbike was making sure that his camera was dry as he was filming the Scot David Millar who finished 11th.

In spite of the rain the atmosphere was great with Glasgow living up to its reputation as the Friendly City with almost everyone going around with a smile on their face and the stewards giving cheery banter. It has been good to see Glasgow looking so vibrant on the tv too but no surprise to me after having spent much of my working life there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.