Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Stalk-Winged Damselflies

A chance encounter. We'd gone for a walk around Chasewater and I'd been taking photographs of the water skiers and windsurfers when we came across a large number of these damselflies. I was carrying the Nikon v2 with a 70-200mm lens (using the FT-1 mount), giving me a 190-540mm effective lens.

I tried my best to capture these two but it wasn't easy and I know critical sharpness is lacking. I should have increased the aperture to get a faster shutter speed, even though it would have given a very narrow depth of field. I should have further opportunities to capture these fascinating insects, hopefully using more appropriate equipment, but in the circumstances I thought it was worth sharing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.