Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

Coffee??

"I'll have a quarter strength decaf skinny soy latte with extra foam & 4 sugars".

no!"

That's what he should have said!

"No lady, that's not even a real drink. Go away & have a good hard look at yourself & when your ready come back & order a proper drink!!"

"Regular or large?" He smiled.

Damn he was polite, This meant I couldn't even cause a scene & go running from the cafe. She would be served & I would be next...

Don't get me wrong, I'm all for customer service. I even drill my students with the mantra that we shall not only meet but exceed our customer expectations. But today was different....Today was a day where I had made a potentially life changing decision...

Today, I was taking a giant leap for mankind (okay that may be slightly exaggerated but there was drama). Today people of the world (musical build up), I was going where I had never been before... I was going to order a coffee instead of a hot chocolate.... For the first time ever!!!!

He gave 'non real drink' lady her..hmmm..beverage. She threw her money at him (not necessary) & strutted down to sit near the tree where I was going to drink my experimental potion.

It was my turn next. I stepped up, breath, don't forget to breath...

"I'd like a hot chocolate please!"

There it was done, the order placed, the adventure begun!! But wait...did I say 'hot chocolate'?? I think I did. I think in my 'nervous wreck' state I reverted back to hot chocolate whilst subconsciously looking for comfort. Damn thwarted again by distraction & overthinking!!

He smiled & handed me my non-coffee hot chocolate. Defeated, I walked down to the tree to drink it. I sat, worthless, dejected, feeling ever so ...judged.

"They make great coffee there don't they?" She smiled the smug smile of a lady drinking a more coffee drink than me.

It was at that moment that some well timed kids came along and started playing with the sculpture next to us. They rocked the red and yellow metal bars that extend into the sky making an almighty clanging noise.

"How annoying, I hate that thing. Wish they'd shut up it's ruining my coffee!"

I listened to the abstract music floating through the leaves.

"They make good hot chocolates there too".

Red Centre by Egyptian & later Australian artist Konstantin Dimopoulos, has been a permanent instillation & interactive feature on the Federation River Walk since 2006. It stands as a tribute to the harsh Australian outback environment and has brought great joy & annoyance to beverage drinkers ever since...

I love that sculpture :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.