EvelyneNaylorC

By EvelyneNC

The Spirit of the Thistle

I loved this because of the color contrast and the thorns like sun rays which made me think of a rather spiritual essence of the thistle. It is on purpose here that it is not a sharp picture. My daughter went to a Waldorf school, (or free school) when she was little which teaches upon the ideas of Rudolf Steiner. One of the principles was to give as little as possible clearly outlined "material" to the children, like f.i. dolls did not have a clearly designed face, but rather a mere indication of the spots where the eyes and the mouth would be. The idea behind it was that the fantasy of the child would compliment the missing shapes and they would be different for each one. The watercolor painting was done upon similar ideas, the colors were allowed to freely flow upon a really wet paper and often great results were obtained.

On another field , homeopathic medicine creates drops or little pills that contain not much more than the spirit of the original plant. It needs your fantasy to understand that and to believe that it works. For me it does, and, by the way, even for my dogs and for horses these medicines work.

So here you have my anthroposophic Thistle Spirit.

And to finally finish this entry, I want to thank you all for bringing my little house to the top of the spotlight for such a long time. I felt very happy and grateful...It hadn't happened in a long time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.