Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Just a spoonful of sugar

It's rare that I get a chance to catch up on the latest Hollywood gossip and give my brain a rest from digesting medical jargon, but when Reuben's asleep and a whole pile of them have been left...

Reuben's doing much better today, thanks everyone and we hope to have him home this week, his lungs in strong recovery mode. I sat up til 4am by his side last night doing my long overdue UK tax return and looking through photos. Up at 7 with a few trach suctioning episodes in between, I was as fresh as a daisy (yeah right) this morning but of course utterly my fault.

Ages ago I bought tickets for us all to see the Broadway production of Mary Poppins in Downtown LA and whilst Jason watched Reuben, Callum (14m) and I had a wonderful matinee date at the theatre. It's an absolutely thrilling spectacle and left me with a huge wide eyed grin of pleasure across my face. Callum was enthralled with the first half and slept soundly snuggled into my chest through the second half. Is that not perfection!

And then I wanted to get back to see Reuben so I traded places with Jason and sat reading and signing with Reuben all evening. Reuben completely steals the heart of everyone whom he meets, teaching them to sign, making them laugh, willing them to stroke his gorgeous dirty blonde curls.

Recorded on Dr Amin's official notes were the words "Reuben, my favourite patient..".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.