One Hundred Years

So, 'twas a hundred years ago today that the whole shebang kicked off. I had to dig out something appropriate, so here's the paternal grandad's pay book. One of the lucky ones - although he was sent over to the Western Front, he was in the artillery. Doing horsey stuff I believe. Or is that because the only photo we have from him over there is sitting on a horse? The horse was called Henny, which I think is the sum total of what he talked about concerning the war. Not unusual in that regard. The maternal grandfather, meanwhile, was out in Macedonia, driving a truck. Another lucky posting though he did always say, 'bad buggers, the Bulgars'.

And almost coincidentally I was running low on podcasts, it being parliamentary recess time, when I came across this. Well worth a listen. If you're not at work!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.