Longhorn Beetle (Strangalia quadrifasciata)

What a creature! Found on my lakeside walk after work.

It's been quite a day for nature. I watched several Common Darter dragonflies on the pond at work this lunchtime, and sat beside a wasp's nest burrowed into the ground. I did wonder why there were a lot of wasps near me as I ate my lunch. They weren't bothering me, just gathering around this one spot, which was the nest entrance.

I saw a kestrel fly over me tonight and the Arctic Terns again. There were lots of hoverflies and bees and I also spotted some kind of sawfly.

This longhorn beetle was originally hanging upside down under some cow parsley stems. It then dropped off and I then watched it climb onto these leaves, where I got some better shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.