The Great War

Dads. I've thought a lot about Dads today.

This is the certificate my Granddad was presented with after WW1. It has a brief outline of his service and medals awarded.

Fay, my aunt gave it to me a few years ago. I've often wondered what Granddad thought and felt when he held it. His service for Queen and country would have had a huge impact on his life. He served in Passchendaele and the Somme. I don't think he ever talked about it.

Large has remarkable detail.

Here is a bit about the certificates.

100 years on and we're remembering the beginning of WW1.

I attended a funeral today. Dave was 100 and Dad to my mate Malcolm who I tramp and fish with. Dave was 5 years old and growing up in Kelso (west Otago) when WW1 ended. Many years later he recounted how he remembered that day and later the return of his elder brother from the war.

Dave's health was poor over these last few years and I never knew him. But I know how much my mate did for his Dad. It was a privilege to be there today as Dave was honoured and farewelled.

Another Dad who raised a family, lived with principles and intregrity, and a rich faith that sustained him to the end.

Very much like my dear Dad who I'm immensely proud of.

House update. The weather looks pants for Thursday and Friday. That isn't good news for the planned roof repairs.

Neither of the carpet patches downstairs looks any better as the carpet dries. It might take another couple of days to decide the outcome. I know what I think should happen, particularly since the carpet repairer took it upon himself to cut another patch from a corner downstairs!

My insurance co has finally put the $s into my bank account for storm damage to curtains, dresser and blind. Today I sent them the quote for the dormer window sills. Hopefully that is quickly and smoothly settled too.

Late though it is I need to scrounge some dinner from the kitchen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.