What an Event

Whilst driving around the Upper Calder Valley in the evening sunshine I thought my car didn't feel quite right.
On inspection I found I had a flat tyre.
In this modern, enlightened age, many motor car manufacturers have dispensed with that useless item called a 'spare wheel'.
They now give you a d-i-y pack of tyre sealant and mini-compressor with which to repair a puncture. This only works with a simple 'nail' type puncture and is completely useless with anything worse.
Mine was worse and the repair could not be effected.
I had to ring the AA - wait for them to arrive - and then be transported home (rather ignominiously) on a suspended tow.
I then had to contact a tyre supplier to arrange for them to come out and fit a NEW tyre - at 5,500 miles this really hurt.
In the 'olden days' - 15 minutes with a jack, wheel brace and spare wheel and I would have been on my way.
Progress? I think not :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.