A free day!

I had a free day today for the first time in a while; the HG was away walking to develop a new walk for the club with three others (I was not invited).

I decided to go into the city and try to photograph some more of the 'Clyde' mascots which are dotted around, twenty five in all. First of all I went to Glasgow Green as I wanted to capture the one there. Had a coffee in the Winter Gardens of course, and took a few photographs around there, but then discovered that because they are dismantling a lot of the equipment used for the parties held there over the Commonwealth Games time, I couldn't get near the mascot. There was also a problem with going along the river, as many parts were cordoned off for the same reason.

However, I went along Sauchiehall Street and photographed two, one at Elmbank Street and one at Rose Street, then captured another at Queen Street Station. This was getting exciting! Then I walked to Glasgow Cross and captured the one there.

By the way, the Games Mascot 'Clyde' completely sold out a couple of days ago, and according to the newspapers, the one that I bought, which cost £15, is selling for £90 on e-bay!!! But I won't part with it!!!!

I took lots of other photographs around the city, to add to my 'Glasgow' album, but I rather liked this one of Templeton's Carpet Factory, which actually was the very first photograph I took today. I check on the internet, and found this information:

The splendid "Doge's Palace" facade of Templeton's carpet factory facing into Glasgow Green was built in 1892. There is a well-known tale that the building was so highly ornamented because of the Corporation's insistence on this for any factory build facing the Green because there were mansion houses around the Green owned by rich merchants who didn't want a view of a factory from their mansions.

However, the official company explanation is that it was built in such an elaborate fashion in commemoration of the founder, James Templeton, who died in 1885. Indeed, a plaque indicating this was included inside on the ground floor. Designed by William Leiper, and executed in polychromatic brick, it is now a listed building.


The building is now used as a business centre, and has a very nice cafe and restaurant too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.