WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Mole!

Nearly!

I drove to collect some post from Ilkley today and took Little Dog for a walk too. We walked up towards the moors' car park. I wasn't particularly on my mission of a while ago but a set of seven or eight mole hills caught my eye.

They looked rather fresh.
One moved!

I had my little camera to hand and sat and waited. And waited. And waited.

There was plenty of movement and soil being excavated but today was my lucky day was not to be. He stayed firmly underground.

For those of you who may remember and have doubted my story about worms writhing at the surface, I again saw worms on the run slither. One sad little chap was making his way up, was three-quarters of the way to safety and I watched him being sucked back in like a piece of spaghetti.

So, instead, of blipping an empty molehill, I saw this peacock butterfly proudly drinking from my buddleia with another three of its kind. I was investigating butterfly migration as one of them was seriously tatty (we discovered at the weekend that some butterflies cross the Atlantic). I don't think this one does but whilst reading, I discovered that the hissing noise I couldn't quite locate was in fact coming from the butterflies themselves, rubbing their wings together as a warning.

That told me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.