Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

More culture!

Today on our stroll we met two whopping big dogs, who were kind to Archie and allowed him to hang out with them for a while, and though they generally ignored him, I don't think he realised.

He's taken to chasing seagulls, which is pretty futile, but good exercise for him.

In the afternoon we (JR and I - not Archie) went to two more Festival shows. The first was a one-woman show with only about a half dozen in the audience, two of them bored looking reviewers. Poor girl. I do admire people who can do this, and want them all to do well, but there's just too much competition. In the venue (a shipping container) it was very hot. And dark. In these conditions I get drowsy, but she kept looking over our way, in the front row, so I had to keep looking interested. For an hour.

Then on to a great show, based on true stories, about the Maori Battalion at Monte Cassino. It was terrific. Though spoiled - amazingly enough - by rude people eating their lunch. I kid you not. Rustling round in their plastic bags, popping open their boxed sandwiches, munching crisps, even an apple! Unbelievable. It went on the whole time, despite my frequent dirty looks in their direction. They were a couple of huge Maoris from the Haka group, so I suppose nobody was going to ask them to shut up.

We then scored free tickets for another NZ show, though it was one I wouldn't have paid to go to, being rather, er, raunchy. Though again, they were wonderful actors and I was in awe of their talent.

So we were away for longer from Archie than planned. He went crazy when we came back - charging round the house like a mad thing. He even took a flying leap on to the sofa - something he has never been able to do before.

Just noticed that big potato walking along in the background. It must be the Festival!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.