Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Brighton

Every summer for the last three years we have gone to Brighton for the day to meet up with the family of a little girl Carys made friends with in Spain the summer before she started school. This was last year. This year William came two, but my blip is of the girls because the day was all about you. A long journey was made worthwhile when I saw Carys's grin as she spotted C and as I watched her sprint the last few metres to give C a huge (and reciprocated) hug!

We had lunch at the Harvester and then rolled down to the beach where the kids played and were entertained by H, C's big brother who is 17! All of a sudden it was 5pm, so we had to pack up, sadly say our goodbyes and head back home. Both girl's seem subdued on saying goodbye and by the time we reached the station Carys had shed a few tears.

Both my children were really well behaved on the trains. Carys read most of the way there (Dancing Shoes) and some of the way back. W and I played I-spy and I read to him for part of the journey there. Sadly we had no table either on the way there or back as I had taken colouring stuff with me as this seems to be William's latest passion.

I really hope they sleep in tomorrow as they wer very, very late to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.