Mrs Cyclops

By MrsCyclops

I'll be doing this sky in my dreams tonight

I am currently working on a project with the Scottish Arts Council about community referral to the arts - being 'prescribed' arts activities rather than conventional medical approaches for mental health problems. We are hoping to commission a beautiful creative high quality publication at the end of it, much like this one about Art in Hospital. We usually write fairly dry and extensive research reports (as required by the funder), so the idea is that alongside the standard outputs we will publish something beautiful, and allow the art to speak for itself.

However, this means I spent all day today filling in grant application forms and answering complicated questions that I'm not used to answering about how I will ensure the quality of the art and the artistic integrity in my project. Phew, glad that's done!

This evening, Cyclops and I went to see a preview of Invictus - which I could not recommend more highly.

From imdb: Nelson Mandela, in his first term as the South African President, initiates a unique venture to unite the apartheid-torn land: enlist the national rugby team on a mission to win the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

It was a wonderful, uplifting film and I absolutely loved it because I'm a big believer in social inclusion through sport and this is a great example of doing that on a grand scale!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.