An Artist's Life

By MariB

On the Road

Evening in eastern Montana. We're staying with M's nephew in Columbus...near Billings. After dinner we drove along the Yellowstone and enjoyed the sun setting fire to the sky. Many fires are making the whole western US hazy...all of it. One reason I don't have guests in August anymore...Fire Season. Another is...I'm not home.
The whole way across, we've been on the Lewis & Clark Trail. I often look at the scenery as if I was L&C and are seeing it for the first time...the broad and wild Yellowstone River is the only major river in the USA that is not dammed anywhere. I love its freedom and have floated it many times. I've caught some huge fish in there and have lost a lot of lures and tackle to these big brutes...but oh what fun it is!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.