54stairs

By MarnieL

Sad goodbye…

It is not without a tear in my eye that I say goodbye to my pottery studio. One of the reasons we purchased our Burlington home was because it had the potential for a pottery studio. I loved potting and the studio we installed was perfect for me! Somehow, however, other things always seemed to take priority and I was not able to pot as much as I would have liked. So, regrettably, our move to Montreal has prompted the sale of the studio contents.

On the plus side, the items went to the Kawartha Potters Guild, whose members are already making use of everything! I am pleased that so many people will benefit from the kiln, the wheel, the tools and the raw materials.

In this photo, everything is loaded on to the truck and is ready to go. Lillian Forrester and June Goodwin are from the Kawartha Potters. A young man was kind enough to help them move everything and provided the truck and some muscle to lift the heavy potting equipment.

Justin is on the far right. Without him, everything would still be in the basement, too heavy to carry up the stairs. Yesterday, he and a friend carried the ridiculously heavy kiln and wheel up from the basement, then he was here to help carry the rest up today. He also helped clean the vacated space (and the rest of the house) just in time for an afternoon house showing. He has been an incredible help to me these last few weeks. I am lucky to have such a wonderful son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.