bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Distortion

....I know this doesn't look real....but it is! Look large for the pattern details.
Its simply a zoomed in shot of the numerous distorted reflections made by the side of a bridge and a multi storey apartment building against the front of a huge all glass office block on the West Quay in Salford.
I took loads of shots of this today as the reflections were amazing and quite surreal in how they were refracting and making new shapes all over the flat side of the building. Many of them looked very Gaudi-esque. But this one kept me reminding me of something else...and it finally came to me as I was trying to decide whether to blip it in mono or in colour....It reminds me of the old YES Album covers by Roger Dean....if anyone else is old enough to remember them!
Chose mono because the actual colours are actually very vibrant as the glass is copper and blue....but they actually made it harder to pick out the shapes and patterns than in black and white.
Anyway I assure you its not pop art...just one of those things worth looking way up from the pavement for...and having your camera in your work bag !!
And now I've just realised this is number 300 consecutive Blip ! I was only going to aim for one a week ....but I love a challenge and am very stubborn. I'm aiming for the 365 Birthday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.