Hanging garden

I went down to the Gateshead office on the train, arriving just in time to sample some of the delicious cakes baked for the monthly coffee morning by our very own raggedrascal - celebrating Jamaica's independence day he provided coconut cake, banana bread, ginger cake and something called hummingbird cake which was (happily) full of fruit rather than hummingbirds.

Heading back down towards Leith Walk from the station ( I can usually pass two or three stops before a grid-locked bus catches up with me) I thought to myself that if an establishment is going to do that whole hanging basket thing, then it might as well go for it wholesale, as does the Theatre Royal Bar. If only the vegetation overwintered it would probably start hosting migratory birds, like the vertical garden in Barcelona that Barrioboy has been documenting. As D pointed out, they could even perch on the heralds' trumpets.

Oh, I've got a week off work, hurray! :-) Time to get really busy...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.