My Angle

By myangle

Monster Adjustment

Monster isn't the most comfortable bike to ride. In fact he is downright uncomfortable. Part of the reason for the lack of comfort is the angle of the handlebars. Now that I have had the bike for 3 or so months I have decided it is time to personalise it a bit.

I find that when I ride for more that 20 minutes or so, my hands start to ache and my fingers go numb. I am pretty sure it isn't because I am hanging on for dear life! Today I went to the Ducati shop and looked at a range of bars designed for my bike. They were all narrower than the ones on there. That means that the bars on the bike are after market and not really designed for it. Having said that I am not spending over $100 before I see if I can get the bars on the bike to offer more comfort.

So, tonight I loosened all the bolts and swivelled the bars forward. Because of the bend in the bars this has made quite a difference. The grips are probably 2 or 3 inches further forward than they were before. That seems to make my wrists straighter and also increases the height of the bars. Double bonus for someone who is quite tall.

Unfortunately I couldn't go for a test ride due to the fact that I have had a few wines. There is always tomorrow and the ride to work though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.