Into the woods

By FreeRangePlay

Our holiday ends with lunch

And so our two week family holiday to the Preseli Hills in South Wales has come to an end. We have beached, walked, castled (both sand & stone) and visited some interesting & beautiful places. We have tried as many local beers as we could including breweries Cwm Gwaun, Seren and Blue Stone, tasted welsh cider, welsh cheese and wekas cakes. I imagine the pounds have piled on!

Today, our last day in Wales, we went for lunch at Gellifawr. There were 12 adults and 2 children ranging from 11 months to 84 years in age. On viewing their website I was slightly concerned that it might be rather expensive, it might be a bit posh or there might not be food on the menu that everyone would like. I need not have worried. The prices were reasonable, there was something on the menu for everyone and they gave us two large tables in our own room so the children could play & we could talk across both tables without disturbing any other diners.

I had stir fry vegetables & noodles in Hoi Sin sauce, whilst there was limited choice as a vegetarian (one choice) it was very nice. My husband and son had pork loins and said they and the sauce they were in were delicious. Desserts were delicious too, especially the coffee brûlée, brownie & chocolate ice cream. My only complain is that even though they are surrounded by at least three local breweries they only sold one local beer (and no local cider) and that beer ran out at 2pm.

So tomorrow is back to reality. For me that is Worcester to the family history fair to sell CD's on the One Stop Genealogy stand. For the rest of my family it's home (& hopefully start the washing!). Monday is back to work to catch up on what I have missed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.