Knottman2

By Knottman2

A little beauty

No apologies for yet another Hoverfly . It is the time of year when they are at their best. Blipping them is a good way of learning more about them. The book says there are about 250 species in the British Isles so identification is not always easy.
I think this is one of the most common of them : Syrphus rubesii. But if there are any experts out there who can correct me I would be delighted to hear from them.

The walk today was from home to the RSPB reserve at Leighton Moss. About 3 miles with one or two photographic diversions. In the reserve I meet up with six ladies (including my wife Ann who is the organiser). They range from 65 to 83 and they spend the morning removing bracken and scrub from a part of Gait Barrows National Nature Reserve where Bird's Eye Primrose and Fragrant Orchids grow. I am full of admiration for their work and I call them Conservation Amazons.

The day was perfect. It was hard to choose from several possible blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.