Rusty Wren

It was beautiful morning here in Essex. Jazzy dog and I went out with the long lens before breakfast looking for birds. They have been lying low while they moult.

I got a nice shot of my chiff-chaff looking very fluffy and ruffled and this wren seemed to be following us around. In my pic it is perched on a rusty pipe that used to let trapped air out of the four-inch, cast-iron, hot-water heating system. I got a shot of it with its beak agape singing its heart out but it was obscured by the pipe.

I have discovered a lovely old book, The Tale Of Rusty Wren written in 1917 by Arthur Scott Bailey. It was one of his Tuck-Me-In-Tales. That reminded me of when my children were young. They were never any trouble to get to bed. When they were tired they would head off calling, "Can you come and tuck me?"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.