GordonDudman

By Dudders

Felbridge (St John's) Churchyard

St John's is an interesting church which dates back a little over 150 years. The churchyard is now 'closed' to new burials. Both my Grand-Mother and my father are buried in the SE corner (and was one of the last plots remaining).

From time to time I visit to keep it clean and tidy; Tandridge DC tend to just use a strimmer once or twice a year. Over the years I've been struck by the headstone marking the grave of 12 year old Annie Sophia Pattenden. The stone looks as if room was going to left for mum and dad? But Pattenden is a well known local name.

However, she is not alone (her parents are buried elsewhere in the churchyard) but in the adjacent plot is her sister Dora who was born 8 years after her sibling died. So not quite so alone as I had first assumed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.