Life Savors

By osuzanna

Memories

I have a smartphone app that is quite extraordinary in its ability to find the quickest way to and from work, while avoiding traffic congestion. Since using it, it has taken me on many side streets and roads that I had never taken in my 35 years of commuting to the hospital. Today when it took me down into Rock Creek Park past Pierce Mill, I decided to stop and take a photo. As I walked down to the falls, I realized that I had not been there since late afternoon on the day of my father’s funeral, just over 33 years ago. On that day, I had taken my two oldest sons there to give them a little play time after an emotionally wrenching morning and afternoon. They were just 8 and 9. We had been through the illness, the loss, and on that day, the full military funeral at Arlington Cemetery. They needed a chance to run and play for a little while.

Being there today, gave me a few moments to think about my father who has been gone such a long time. He died when he was only 62, younger than I am today. He was a soft spoken man with a wonderful sense of humor. He was a decorated veteran of both WWII and Korea. He had a very successful career in the US military, and a second career in business with a large national corporation. He was very close to retirement and the picture of good health when he became sick. In less than one year, he was gone.

He had a superb green thumb and he took such pleasure in his beautiful flowers and fresh vegetables. He had aquamarine eyes, which I have inherited and I can see him in my sons and grandchildren. He loved a dry gin martini, my mother’s exceptional cooking, opera, traveling, reading and most of all he loved us. He gave us a very good life.

Peirce Mill, a historic grist-mill on Rock Creek in Washington D.C., was built in the 1820's, and operated commercially until 1897. It is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.