Louise - Changing Natures

By louisemac

Giving Thanks

A sad day, but a life-affirming one nonetheless. Attended my first humanist funeral today - a member of my senior team sadly lost her mum last week, and so we went along to support her.

It was the first funeral I'd been to which really did seem to be about real celebration, despite the obvious raw pain of the day. With moving tributes from the family - including her grandsons who talked so lovingly about their "wee gran" - and a real telling of her life story, it was a day full of human emotion and meaning.

What stuck with me was the humanist "minister" (is that right?) stressing that, even in sadness, we must give thanks that the people we have loved have been in the world.

So it was a reflective day, and I came home tonight, wondering what I was going to blip. There on the wall facing me as I walked in was the picture of my Mum and Dad's wedding. I have spoken my heartbroken tributes at both their funerals, but the words about being thankful came back to me all of a rush. So here they are. Thanks Mum and Dad. And thanks too, for "Wee Gran" - you are loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.