The Red Lily Blooms--in August (finally)

Year before last was this very fragrant lily's first time in garden soil. Previously it bloomed in a large pot to save it from nibbling deer.
I planted it in a protected corner where the front deck meets the new ramp. A deer would have to have been sincerely devoted to this lily to get its body in there.
However, (yes, this is the brief version of the history of my favourite rubrum lily...) The next spring raging attacks of slugs and snails in that little bed took out every bud before it could open. Leaves and a few stems experienced the onslaught.
I frequently complained about the overwhelming slugs that year on blipfoto. I had tried many natural offenses, including sprinkling salt on each one. (Did you know that slugs have bright orange blood?) I went through over 7 pounds of table salt before I read about certain nematodes in the UK that are very effective against these beasts. Amazon UK sells them. BUT, they are not allowed to be imported into the U.S. for some unknown reason.

Enter the value of Blip Friendships.
A generous and wonderful blipper, Rob Parry, from Cornwall, I think (JazzyB is his neighbour and knows where they both live). Rob is no longer blipping due to health issues; but he was enthusiastic about smuggling a couple of packets to me. Seems the U.S. Department of Agriculture does not blip and the NSA is not reading our Journals. They safely arrived by U.S. post and got sprayed into this part of the garden.
It has taken two seasons and a tremendously long snowed covered winter, to take effect. Now i am happy to report that I find a few snails and slugs to squish but no damage to the beautiful lily plant this year.
I shall email a photo of this lily's first day in 2014 to Rob for Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.