IntothewildMan

By IntothewildMan

Thanks for a Good Day and Fifteen Minutes of Fame

Thanks to all of you who have been sharing this Blip journey with me. I had a particularly enjoyable 200th Blipday yesterday with so many friendly and kind messages. and enough stars and hearts to propel my early morning gate blip into the Spotlight. This was my first ever experience of the spotlight and funnily enough I missed it because by the time the powers that be sent me an email to inform me, I was in bed.
Today the red balloon has burst and the spotlight has moved on.
This may not have been a bad thing though. According to Wikipedia, fifteen minutes of fame is a mixed blessing:

"15 minutes of fame is short-lived media publicity or celebrity of an individual or phenomenon. The expression is credited to Andy Warhol, who included the words "In the future, everyone will be world-famous for 15 minutes" in the program for a 1968 exhibition of his work at the Moderna Museet in Stockholm, Sweden. Photographer Nat Finkelstein claims credit for the expression, stating that he was photographing Warhol in 1966 for a proposed book. A crowd gathered trying to get into the pictures and Warhol supposedly remarked that everyone wants to be famous, to which Finkelstein replied, "Yeah, for about fifteen minutes, Andy.


Anyway, after all that, here is a picture of a white orchid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.