Where Did You Get That Hat ?

Early 1900's lady with rather an awesome hat. I love the outfit, and I wonder if the youngster who dressed her is thinking of a career in millinery. Maybe Ladies Day at the races was the idea. I came across this mannequin by chance as it was not on the original site. They are being collected up now for an auction sometime in September. In the background is Miss Wintercomfort, the first one I blipped. This is in a delightful courtyard next to the Almshouses on Victoria Road, which used to be a wonderful bakery and now a picture framing studio. I can remember reading about the baker's anger when, due to new EU regulations he had to stop making his bread in the large brick ovens as they were 10 inches short of the required width. His family had baked there for generations, and I often went there for a warm, crusty loaf. I'm not sure if I'll find any more mannequins now but it's been fun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.