A journey through Zogland

By Zog

A little marmalade

We went to Stirling Castle today. The day started out well but we couldn't get parked, so I dropped everyone off and returned to Stirling town to park. More of that later.

Having Historic Scotland membership cards, we decided to go for a guided tour along with our visitors. Very entertaining hour during which I spotted this little marmalade hoverfly investigating the flowers on the ramparts. We had to walk back down to the town to pick up the car as the traffic was much worse now. Still it was a pleasant enough walk on a good day. Went for coffee and when we came out it was torrential rain. Got soaked picking up the car.

Dinner in Chaophraya in Glasgow, which is always good.

Now back to the parking conumdrum:
I'd parked in our usual street in Stirling, bought a ticket and was walking back to the castle when I saw a better parking place in a street closer to the castle, so I went back and moved the car. The parking attendant was walking past so I told him what I'd done.
"You can't do that." was his reply.
"What." I said, "It's the same charge, the same time limit, the only difference it the street name on the ticket."
"Doesn't matter" he said. "Different ticket numbers for different machines. You'd get a parking ticket for what you've done."
He finished with the get-out clause of all 'jobs-worths' "I don't make the rules sir, council makes the rules".
"No," I thought "but you just love enforcing them".

He had a mustache but not the black, toothbrush one he should have had to fit his persona.

365/220

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.