a gosling's cry

After work today I stopped by the pond where I have been following a gosling and its two parents. At first I didn't see any of the Canada Geese, but I did hear an animal squealing, as if it were in pain.

Later on I discovered that it was the gosling who was squealing or maybe even crying. For a while it was all by itself with its parents nowhere to be found. After a while the gosling started to swim near some ducks.

I found this situation to be incredibly sad and distressing. About a half hour later I heard the most wonderful sound - that of Canada Geese honking as they approached the pond from the sky above.

The gosling stopped squealing the moment they landed on the pond. It made me wonder, though, what exactly had been going on here. And how long had the adult Canada Geese left the gosling by itself?! It is a tough world out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.