The Good Old Days

There's no substitute for a gathering of people who used to work together. Shared history, it's the coolest thing. Our friend returned for a visit after 10 years in Iowa. She brought us each a sprig from her Maple tree, complete with acorns. What a wonderful way to say, "I was thinking of you and wanted to share my world with you".

Something I observed, and also remembered from my travels to Illinois the last time. The people who have moved away don't have the anchors for their memories that the people who stayed do. It was easier for me to remember every person who was there, because I'm still anchored to the same place of employment. Many of them were retired, off having a lovely time of life (good to see) and a few of them had to re-introduce themselves to each other. Trying to remember who is who.

For me, each was a missing peace to a puzzle that I still work on 5 days a week. Each one still fits, each one still has a place in my heart. So good to see old friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.