intothehills

By intothehills

Stewardship

I come from farming stock & now live in an area where its the historic economic driver (if nowadays surpassed by tourism) - farm land surrounds my house and forms a large part of where I work.
I hear a lot of nonsense talked about farmers - they all drive range rovers, do anything for a quick buck etc yawn etc - The reality that I see is somewhat different - all hours of the day & night I'm passed by farm vehicles, 7 days a week, every week of the year. It's not uncommon to see the farmers out and about during the Christmas holidays when almost the rest of the UK is taking time with loved ones - frankly if they can do financially well out if it them I say well done to them - but for most it is a way of living rather than a means to riches. And that seems odd to me - they supply one of the very few commodities we actually absolutely cannot live without - I know wifi and news feeds sometimes feel like that - but food really is - and yet they seem a very poorly represented and valued part of our economy and society.

Around us I know a fair few of the farmers to either chat to or at least give a wave of recognition - most are generational farms, sadly some will also be the last of their line to run the farms as the youngsters can't afford to stay and don't see farming as a rewarding life choice. Ed is one local farmer who's love of his land is inspiring - fields are rotated, herds moved and the land managed well. The Coast to Coast crosses Ed's land and he always makes sure the path is kept free, the signs, gates and stiles are maintained and walkers are welcome - in the last couple of years he's also put in a few of these fantastic little nature area's (there's a small newly planted wood just out of shot) - all at his own expense (although if there are grants I'm sure he's on top of that too!) - and our enjoyment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.